Dawn Staley, Kamilla Cardoso look to win big at 2024 Naismith Women’s Award Presentation


COLUMBIA, S.C. (WIS) – Ahead of the NCAA Women’s Final Four in Cleveland, some of the most outstanding women’s basketball players and coaches will be honored during the 2024 Women’s Naismith Awards Presentation.
Two Gamecocks are in the running for awards. Dawn Staley is looking to win her fourth Naismith Coach of the Year, after winning in back-to-back years in 2022 and 2023.
South Carolina’s leading scorer and top defensive presence Kamilla Cardoso is looking to win Defensive Player of the Year, after averaging 2.6 blocks on the year.
WIS will have exclusive coverage of the live stream, which airs at 3:30 p.m.
Jersey Mike’s Women’s Player of the Year Finalists:
Cameron Brink, Stanford
Paige Bueckers, UConn
Caitlin Clark, Iowa
JuJu Watkins, Southern California
Werner Ladder Women’s Coach of the Year Finalists
Lisa Bluder, Iowa
Lindsay Gottlieb, Southern California
Dawn Staley, South Carolina
Tara VanDerveer, Stanford
Finalists for Women’s Defensive Player of the Year:
Cameron Brink, Stanford
Kamilla Cardoso, South Carolina
Hannah Hidalg, Notre Dame
Celeste Taylor, Ohio State
Feel more informed, prepared, and connected with WIS. For more free content like this, subscribe to our email newsletter, and download our apps. Have feedback that can help us improve? Click here.
Copyright 2024 WIS. All rights reserved.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here